extremely loud and incredibly close movie

I finally saw the movie, extremely loud and incredibly close.  What an appropriate choice for mother’s day weekend.  I was leary given the 911 context, because I thought it would be too depressing and sad, but that was not the case at all.  It was great to see a father have such a good understanding of his special needs child and to see how the mother learns how to connect after the father’s death.  I can’t say too much because I don’t want to give away the ending for anyone who hasn’t seen it yet.  It was very empowering to see how much the parents of special needs children do to help them succeed!  I hope I can be that kind of mother for my son with aspergers.  Also another very important exposure for aspergers in the media; hopefully continued exposures will help create more public awareness of this invisible disability.  If you’ve seen it, what did you all think of the movie?  How old do you think the boy is?  I was guessing around 9?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to extremely loud and incredibly close movie

  1. demetershouse says:

    I think he is about 9. Both of my sons are on the autism spectrum so I love movies that raise awareness too!

Leave a Reply

