Treasuring the Differences, Yet Yearning for Normal

I love my 6.5 year old son with aspergers to pieces and even cherish some of his differences, yet at the same time ache for him to fit in and feel comfortable.  He is a very loving, cuddly boy which everyone says to cherish while it lasts (which I have), but for him, this will probably last much longer than for most kids.  I have had to stay with him at vacation bible school each day so far this week and today when I could not go with him since I am at work, he would not go and instead opted to go grocery shopping with grandma.  It is a new situation, there is a large group and loud music at the beginning and the end, so I am sure his senses are overwhelmed.  He is comfortable with me because I understand him, as MOM – Not Otherwise Specified describes so wonderfully in one of her blog posts.  I just want him to be able to feel comfortable without me too ;-(  It seems for every positive there is a negative.  I guess that’s what keeps us in balance?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

